Moving underprivileged youth to a SHINING life through college scholarships

A Date with the Scholars

Mabuhay (hello) from the Philippines!

I had the honor of meeting up with our four NingNing scholars today. I am pleased to announce that they are doing very well in all of their classes (with the exception of English, but we’re working on that). And most importantly, they are enjoying their college experience so far. They wanted me to be sure and tell all of you who have contributed to the scholarship – THANK YOU!

I sat down with them over a ‘merienda’ (snack) and they told me about what their weekly schedule is like, what their favorite class is so far and what this scholarship has meant to them.

JUSTINE

Justine, September 2010

 

Justine is glowing. Since I first met her four years ago, she is like a completely different person. She used to be rather shy and timid and now she shines with a new confidence!

Here’s what she told us about her second semester of college…

Q: How long does it take you to get to class each day?

A: 30 minutes. I take a tricycle and a jeepney to my classes five days a week.

Q: What is your favorite class and why?

A: Food and Beverage because we get to learn how to make special drinks and recipes (she wants to be a chef!).

Q: How many siblings do you have?

A: I have 6 siblings.

Q: What do your parents do?

A: My dad is a tricycle driver and my mom doesn’t work. My dad makes 300 pesos a day to support our family.

Q: How does it feel to be pursuing your dream of going to college?

A: I didn’t think I would ever get to go to college! Now that I have this scholarship, I am encouraged to work hard in school. I hope that I can get a good job and help support my family.

JOSIE

Josie, September 2010

 

Next is Josie. I call her “smiles” because she is just that – all smiles. She couldn’t stop laughing and giggling today during our meeting. It was contagious – we all began laughing and giggling with her! Her teachers have given her very positive reports, saying she is a very hard worker and gets her projects in on time.

A day in the life of 16-year-old Smiles….

Q: How long does it take you to get to class each day?

A: 30 minutes. I take wake up at 6am every day and take the LRT public transport train.

Q: What is your favorite class and why?

A: Filipino…because its the easiest! Engish is the hardest. (she says with a frown)

Q: How many siblings do you have?

A: None! I am only child.

Q: What do your parents do?

A: My parents are separated. My mom is a maid. I don’t know about my dad. I live with my grandma and she takes care of me.

Q: How does it feel to be pursuing your dream of going to college?

A: I love it! I now have hope that I can finish college and achieve my dream of being a pre-school teacher. I want to be able to get a good job to help my family.


ERMALYN

Ermalyn, September 2010

 

Ermalyn is breaking out of her shell. She is another one whose demeanor has changed drastically since she began college. She used to sit with her arms crossed and head down not saying anything.  Now, she makes eye contact and is growing in confidence every day. 

17-year-old Erma tells us a bit about her daily life…

Q: How long does it take you to get to class each day?

A: One hour. I take the LRT public transport train.

Q: What is your favorite class and why?

A: Computer class… (too shy to answer why!)

Q: How many siblings do you have?

A: 8 younger siblings. I am the oldest.

Q: What do your parents do?

A: My dad is a guard and my mom doesn’t work. (Dad only makes 3000 pesos a month – about 60 US dollars)

Q: How does it feel to be pursuing your dream of going to college?

A: It makes me really happy. Its challenging but I am happy to work hard for my future. I thought it would be impossible to go to college!

JERSON

Jerson, September 2010

 

Jerson us a student and an artist. He and his brother stood out in our morning feeding programs for their outstanding works of art. They are going to draw some pictures by the end of the week so I can share them with you!

22-year-old Jerson is studying hotel and restaurant management…

Q: How long does it take you to get to class each day?

A: 30 minutes. I take a tricycle and a jeepney.

Q: What is your favorite class and why?

A: Computer class… because it comes the easiest.

Q: How many siblings do you have?

A: 6 siblings.

Q: How does it feel to be pursuing your dream of going to college?

A: I have really become more outgoing since I have been enrolled in college. My dream is to get a job and build a house and have more money to support a family.

ALFREDO AND NONIE

Alfredo, Ali, Nonie, September 2010

 

Alfredo and Nonie are the guys on the ground making it all happen! They meet up with the scholars each week to check in and give their allowances. They have done an excellent job!

Ali and the NingNing Scholars 2010

 

Going to visit the schools tomorrow… stay tuned for more updates!

