Moving underprivileged youth to a SHINING life through college scholarships

COLLEGE: A NEW BEGINNING

by Janine Gelera
15 August 2012

I was both scared and exited when I went to the National Teachers College for my first day of classes. I was told college studies were difficult, unlike high school where you can take things easy. I was excited because my first day of school marked an exciting change in my life.

Starting in the first week, we were given a lot of homework and assignments to take home. For the first time, I had to go to the internet to surf for information and print articles relevant for classes. It is all very challenging, but I believe I can do it with hard work and persistence to learn new things. I will do everything within my capability to achieve my dreams and ambitions so my family can have a better life.

One of the biggest challenges I faced entering college was missing my high school classmates. I am only 16 years old, so now all my classmates are old and it is harder to relate. My hope is that I can find friends over time while I am studying here.

There are a lot of changes and challenges before me, but I believe that with perseverance and hard work, I will be able to complete my college degree so I can become a teacher. I am grateful for Ali and the donors who provided me with the NingNing scholarship.

I am hoping that my college life at the National Teachers College will be days, months and years of excitement and that I will enjoy every bit of my studies here!

